Networked Learning Project Post #2

Posted on Updated on

I walked into Home Depot and I headed straight for the lumber section.  I made it to that section in seconds, however the time it took me to actually pick out and purchase the wood, seemed like hours.

You might be asking why I was in the lumber section to begin with?  I am doing a networked learning project for one of my MAET courses and it requires us to learn how to do something using only YouTube videos and online help forums.  I headed straight to my Pinterest board for inspiration and chose to learn how to make a piece of wood wall art.

The first thing I needed to do was use my online resources to get my supply list together.  The main resource I am using is a blog called Shanty-2-Chic.  I am attempting to recreate this exact sign.  This resource is easy to follow and the step by step pictures make it extremely user-friendly.  I am definitely a visual learner when it comes to this project.  One downfall is that on some of the steps, I wish it went into a little more detail.  For example, it says you need “furring strips”.  Maybe this is common knowledge to some, but I had NO idea what furring strips are.  Naturally, I Googled to find out.  Crisis averted.

Shanty-2-Chic also talked about needing a nail gun. This girl does not own a nail gun, so I searched for other alternatives.  I found a YouTube video and Craig says if you don’t have a nail gun, you can use a hammer and finishing nails.  Second crisis averted.  This video has played a key role in my learning on how to actually put together the sign.  Although Shanty-2-Chic shows the process in pictures, it was very helpful to me to watch and rewatch someone work through the process.

As a learner, one difficulty I found is that there is so much information on the internet about making wood signs and different techniques to use.  As Danah Boyd wrote, “Becoming literate in a networked age requires hard work, regardless of age” (Boyd, 2014, p.177).  A simple Google search will return thousands of results.  I had to learn how to weed out the good tutorials from the bad.  Eventually, I had to tell myself that I’d looked at enough and to go with the blogs I found most helpful.  Sometimes, you just have to jump in.photo 2

After all my searching, I finally had my supply list and was off to Home Depot (which is where my story first began). Wandering among aisles and aisles of wood, I finally found the furring strips and felt a bit relieved.  I got those cut to size and then found the rest of my materials; wood glue, finishing nails, and stain.  The lady at the checkout wished me luck with my project.

Look how some of the boards didn't even make contact with the back support board.
Wood glue failure

I got started right away.  I laid out my boards and they looked fabulous.  Following Shanty-2-Chic, I took one of the back supports and glued it on.  Epic fail.  The wood glue did nothing but make a mess.  The boards were a little uneven, which is not good when you are trying to use wood glue.  In the YouTube video I found, Craig does not use glue at all.  Therefore, I decided to forgo the glue and just use the nails.  Third crisis averted._MG_3447

With that decision made, I began hammering the boards together.  It was difficult at first to make sure everything lined up.  However, with each nail in, I was feeling more confident and my project was coming together.  Currently, this is where I’m at.  Next comes the staining process. This is quite the adventure, and I have learned that projects are never as simple as they appear online.

Resources:

http://www.shanty-2-chic.com/2012/03/wood-love-sign.html

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JaV-84VaoZg

References:

Boyd, D. (2014). It’s complicated: the social lives of networked teens. New Haven + London: Yale University Press.

One thought on “Networked Learning Project Post #2

    […] my previous post about this endeavor, I took you through my adventure at Home Depot, my crisis with the wood glue, […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

